Planetary Rulerships

Each of the 12 signs of the zodiac has an affinity with one of the heavenly bodies. The energy of that planet works well with the characteristics of the sign.

Prior to the discovery of the outer planets (Uranus, Neptune, Pluto), each of the visible planets ruled two of the signs, with the Sun and Moon associated with Leo and Cancer, respectively. Only Mercury and Venus continue to have rulership over two signs.

Click on any sign or planet to learn more about these important pairings.

Elements | Modalities | Planetary Rulerships



Mars rules Aries


Venus rules Taurus



Mercury rules Gemini



The Moon rules Cancer



The Sun rules Leo



Mercury rules Virgo



Venus rules Libra



Pluto rules Scorpio



Jupiter rules Sagittarius



Saturn rules Capricorn



Uranus rules Aquarius



Neptune rules Pisces